North Carolina State Seal of Biliteracy.jpg

North Carolina Seal of Biliteracy

North Carolina Seal of Biliteracy Overview

Award Name: Global Languages Endorsement

Adopted: 2015/01/20

Website Link


English Requisite: English GPA 2.5

ELL Requisite: Developing


Award Qualification: Intermediate-Low OR 4 years of 2.5 GPA OR district-approved "credit by demonstrated mastery"

American Sign Language: No

Latin: Yes

Portfolio: No

College Credit: No


Click on a test below to learn more.

DISCLAIMER: Test requirements and usage often changes or varies by school, district, county etc. Make sure to check in with your school district for up to date testing information for the North Carolina Seal of Biliteracy. There may be additional assessments or evidenced based processes that qualify for the North Carolina State Seal of Biliteracy that are not shown here.

North Carolina Global Languages Endorsement:

Visit the Public Schools of North Carolina website for more information

a) The student shall earn a combined unweighted 2.5 GPA or above for the four English Language Arts courses required for graduation.

b) The student shall establish proficiency in one or more languages in addition to English, using one of the options outlined below and in accordance with the guidelines developed by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction.

i. Pass an external exam approved by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction establishing “Intermediate Low” proficiency or higher per the American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (ACTFL) proficiency scale.

ii. Complete a four-course sequence of study in the same world language, earning an overall unweighted GPA of 2.5 or above in those courses.

iii. Establish “Intermediate Low” proficiency or higher per the ACTFL proficiency scale using the Credit by Demonstrated Mastery policy described in GCS-M-001.

c) Limited English Proficiency students shall complete all the requirements of sections 5a and 5b above and reach “Developing” proficiency per the WorldClass Instructional Design and Assessment (WIDA) proficiency scale in all four domains on the most recent state identified English language proficiency test.