Seal of Biliteracy


What is a Seal of Biliteracy?

A Seal of Biliteracy is an award that is granted by a school, district, state or other organization. The Seal of Biliteracy recognizes that an individual has attained a certain level of proficiency in two or more languages. The Seal of Biliteracy is typically awarded in the form of a certificate and can be used as a credential to convey an individuals proficiency in two or more languages.

Why a Seal of Biliteracy?

Being able to speak more than one language is a valuable asset that can open up many doors in an individual’s life. A Seal of Biliteracy can be a powerful tool for one who is trying to gain employment, incremental pay, earn college credit, a scholarship or apply for a study abroad program.

Who Can earn a Seal of Biliteracy?

Traditionally state Seals of Biliteracy are only available to students who attend public schools and meet specific criteria determined by a state, district or school. The Global Seal of Biliteracy is issued by the Global Seal of Biliteracy organization to anyone from any state or country, at any age, that has met one of its two award criteria on one of its qualifying tests.

How can you earn a seal of biliteracy?

State Seal’s of Biliteracy each have their own criteria that needs to be met in order to be awarded a Seal of Biliteracy. Most states require an approved language assessment test to be taken. Some states require the passing of a certain language class. The Global Seal of BIliteracy has a list of qualified tests that are accepted in order to receive your seal.

Where Can You earn a Seal of Biliteracy?

Currently not all states offer a state Seal of Biliteracy program. Click on your state below to find information on their Seal of Biliteracy Program. The Global Seal of Biliteracy is currently available to anyone in the United States who meets the testing requirements, regardless of age, grade, school etc. In the future the Global Seal of BIliteracy is expanding to other countries as well.

Click on a State below to see Seal of Biliteracy Information in that state.

The Global Seal of Biliteracy

The Global Seal of Biliteracy complements and supports the individual state Seals of Biliteracy. We are committed to expanding the opportunity to demonstrate one's bilingualism to language learners not currently included in the state Seal programs. The Global Seal of Biliteracy credential meets or exceeds the requirements of all existing U.S. state Seal programs, and offers a uniform standard to recognize language skills at levels that are meaningful for academic and workplace environments. It allows recipients to showcase their language skills to any school or employer across state lines and national borders. The Global Seal of Biliteracy is proof of your language proficiency at the Intermediate Mid or Advanced Low levels.